Daily Archives: April 16, 2017

The Easter Egg Hunt

I love a treasure hunt.

Today our kids embark on the annual Easter Egg Hunt…finding little treasures inside the eggs. I like the eggs with chocolate hidden inside…Mini Snickers are the best!

There is a lesson to be learned in the hunt.  Kids search for the egg just to find the treasure inside.  We might think that finding our Easter faith is the same way.  It feels like we search in the dark sometimes, groping around throughout our lives hoping against hope to find the egg of faith.

I don’t think this is right.  Remember, God is jealous.  He wants us more than anything.  Much more than we could ever want Him.

The search for faith is not us groping around in the dark – Rather, I believe that we are the egg.  We are the egg and God is seeking us out.  

We are the one isolated in the dark, hiding ourselves from God. And God is the one who seeks us out.

God is the one on the Easter Egg Hunt. We are the eggs.

We are the lost sheep (Luke 15:1-7). We are the prodigal son who has run away from home (Luke 15:11-32). We are the one lost in the wilderness (Psalm 107:4-6).

Jesus is the one who seeks us out.  Jesus is on the Easter Egg hunt.  And the treasure he seeks inside us is not a mini-Snickers, gumdrop or peep…it is our eternal soul.

Jesus is searching for his Easter Eggs today.  And that egg is you.  All we can do is open ourselves to being found.  Stop hiding from God.  Stop burying ourselves deep in the sand of this world: the money, the possessions, the technology, the clothes, the media, etc.  Stop letting the pain of this world blind ourselves from His light – the hurt, anxiety, fear, sickness, worry and concern.  Stop hiding like an Easter Egg.   Cry out to Jesus and open yourself to being found.

Let him find it in you.  Let him find the sweet, tender center of your soul, and transform it forever.

At the cross, at your cross.
I surrender my life.
I’m in awe of You.
Where Your love ran red,
and my sin washed white.Easter Risen Tomb
I owe all to You.
I owe all to You Jesus.

At the tomb, at your tomb.
My life surrendered will rise.
With your life risen today.
Where Your life raised again.
My life is restored.
I owe all to You.
I owe all to You Jesus.

“Why do you seek the living among the dead? He is not here, but has risen.” (Luke 24:5–6)

Live it. Love it. Leave it all behind. #Easter2017