Daily Archives: August 28, 2018

Don’t Waste Your Cancer

1797 Days have passed since my cancer diagnosis
4 Years, 11 Months, 2 Days to be exact
100s of doctors appointments
Dozens of Scans
Too many IVs & Blood draws to count (surprised I have any blood left in me)

I had my follow up again today. By God’s Grace and Mercy, I received the all clear once again!  Cancer has no hold on me!!!

But today as I celebrate survival, I also celebrate the life of another victim of this disease. A good friend lost their mother at age 60 to Lung Cancer last week and her funeral mass starts at 10am, today. I’ve witnessed the loss of so many in the last five years. It seems I stand on the battlefield triumphant amongst 100s of fallen soldiers.  It’s reality, in this world.

So why me? Why now? Why did I survive? How did I make it? And she and so many others did not?

I’ve asked this question dozens of times.  And each time, I go back to a short little booklet by John Piper titled “Don’t Waste Your Cancer.”

I stood at the casket yesterday of another death by cancer, staring for a few minutes at the face I knew once alive, now dead, and it came to me again.

I WILL NOT WASTE THIS LIFE!!

I was given today again today!  Yes, I only have today to live today, and today, I learned I’m cancer free once again!  But Joyce lay lifeless, gone by the same damn disease.  So today, as I remember a mother, sister, wife and beautiful person, I thank God he has given me life. I call you to do the exact same thing.  Thank God. Live today. Own it. Be Intentional. Focus on the Present. You are alive if you are reading this. It’s the greatest gift we have, TIME!  Time to Love. Time to Breathe. Time to Speak. Time to Listen. Time to Hug. Time to Search. Time to Rest. Time to Reach out. Time to Be Alone. TIME.

TAKE EXTREME OWNERSHIP OF LIFE. Today. 

Use this TIME today to think about LIFE, as we reflect on DEATH.  Let the thought of DEATH make you motivated to LIVE LIFE!

You will waste your cancer if you refuse to think about death.

We will all die, if Jesus postpones his return. Not to think about what it will be like to leave this life and meet God is folly.

Ecclesiastes 7:2 says, “It is better to go to the house of mourning [a funeral] than to go to the house of feasting, for this is the end of all mankind, and the living will lay it to heart.” How can you lay it to heart if you won’t think about it?

Psalm 90:12 says, “Teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom.” Numbering your days means thinking about how few there are and that they will end. How will you get a heart of wisdom if you refuse to think about this?

What a waste, if we do not think about death and let it inform us on how we shall live.

Peace to another sister and her family. We’ve lost another great mother on this journey.  May a reflection on her death, on her life well lived, be my inspiration for the life we receive every morning.

Peace brothers and sisters out there. I hope you come on this journey of life today and for the rest of the days you have on this earth.